Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

Founding Statement

The Schoemaker Award was established by the IAHR Council in 1980 to recognise the efforts made by Professor Schoemaker, Secretary (1960-1979), in guiding the Journal of Hydraulic Research in its formative years. 

The Award is made biennially by the IAHR to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal of Hydraulic Research (JHR).

Rules for the administration of the award

1. The Harold Jan Schoemaker Award (hereinafter referred to as the Award) will be made at each biennial IAHR world congress, to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding and published in JHR during the preceding two-year period.

2. The awardee will be selected by the Editor of JHR in consultation with the Editorial Board. The awardee will be selected by majority vote of the Editorial Board. The selected candidate must be endorsed by a majority vote of Council conducted electronically. Non-members of IAHR are eligible for this award. The Editor will actively seek nominations from the IAHR membership (also non-members whose employers are corporate members will be considered) and will publish at least bi-annually an advertisement calling for nominations. The advertisement will include a brief description of the supporting material which is to accompany nominations.

3. The awardee(s) shall be notified by the Executive Director in good time so the awardee can attend the Award ceremony at the World Congress.

4. An award needs not be made during any biennium in which the Council considers none of the nominees to be of sufficient high quality.

5. The award will consist of a bronze medal and a certificate.

Initial contact regarding nominations for the Award should be made with:
IAHR Secretariat
Tel.: +34 91 335 7908
Nominations should be submitted before January 15th, of the year of the World Congress (unless otherwise notified in IAHR media)

List of previous winners

2021: Cristophe Ancey. Bedload transport: a walk between randomness and determinism, 2020.

2019: Andrew Nichols, Simon J. Tait, Kirill V. Horoshenkov, Simon J. Shepherd. A model of the free surface dynamics of shallow turbulent flows, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 2016, 54:5, 516-526.

2017: B. Vowinckel, R. Jain, T. Kempe, J. Fröhlich. Entrainment of single particles in a turbulent open-channel flow: a numerical study” J. Hydraul. Res., 2016, 54(2), 1578-171. 

2015: T. Stoesser. Large-eddy simulation in hydraulics: Quo Vadis?, 2014, 52(4), pp 441-452.

2013: V. Heller.Scale effects in physical hydraulic engineering models, 2011, 49(3), pp293-306.
2013: H. Nepf. Hydrodynamics of vegetated channels, 2012, 50(3), pp 262-279.

2011: U.C. Kothyari, H. Hashimoto, K. Hayashi. Effect of tall vegetation on sediment transport by channel flows (Vol. 47, 2009, No. 6).

2009: H. Morvan, D.W. Knight, N.Wright, X. Tang, A. Crossley. The Concept of Roughness in fluvial hydraulics and its formulation in 1D, 2D, and 3D numerical simulation models (Vol. 46, 2008, No.2).

2007: K. Blankaert, U. Lemmin. Means of noise reduction in acoustic turbulence measurements (Vol. 44, 2006, no. 1).
2007: E.J. Wannamaker, E.E. Adams. Modelling descending carbon dioxide injections in the ocean (Vol. 44, 2006, no. 3).

2005: A. Carrasco, C.A.Vionnet. Separation of Scales on a Broad Shallow Turbulent Flow (Vol. 42, 2004, no. 6).

2003: S. Kostic, G. Parker. Propagational sand-mud deltas in lakes and reservoirs. Part I: Theory and numerical modelling. Part II: Experiment and numerical simulation (Vol. 41, 2003, no. 2).

2001: K.F. Bradbrook, S.N. Lane, K.S. Richards, P.M. Biron, A.G. Roy. Large eddy simulation of periodic flow characteristics at river channel confluences. (Vol. 38, 2000, no. 3).
2001: B.P. Greimann, M. Muste, F.M, Holly, Jr. Two-phase formulation of suspended sediment transport (Vol. 37, 1999, no. 4).

1999: G. Parker, Y. Cui.The arrested gravel front: stable gravel-sand transitions in rivers – Part I: Simplified analytical solution. Part II: General numerical solution (Vol. 36, 1998, no. 1&2).

1997: H. Kamide, Y. Ieda, J. Kobayashi, H. Ninokata. Benchmark exercise for multi-dimensional thermohydraulic analysis codes -Buoyancy driven penetration flow phenomena and thermal stratification (Vol. 34, 1996, no.3).

1995: Ph. Coussot. Steady, laminar flow of concentrated mud suspensions in open channel (Vol. 32, 1994, no. 4).

1993: R.J. Keller, K.C. Tam, C. Tiu. A general correlation for turbulent velocity profiles of dilute polymer solutions (Vol. 30, 1992, no. 1). 

1991: H.F. Cheong, N.J. Shankar, K. Subbiah. Inertia dominated forces on submarine pipelines near seabed (Vol. 27, 1989, no. 1). 

1989: R.I. Nokes, I.R. Wood. Turbulent dispersion of a steady discharge of positively or negatively buoyant particles in two dimensions (Vol. 25, 1987, no. 1).

1987: N. Struiksma, K.W. Olesen, C. Flokstra, H.J. de Vriend. Bed deformation in curved alluvial channels (Vol. 23, 1985, no. 1). 

1985: W. Hauenstein, Th. Dracos. Investigation of plunging density currents generated by inflows in lakes (Vol. 22, 1984, no. 3). 

1983: N.L. Coleman. Velocity profiles with suspended sediment (Vol. 19, 1981, no. 3). 

1981: M.B. Abbott, H. Petersen, O. Skovgaard. On the numerical modelling of short waves in shallow water (Vol. 16, 1978, no. 3).

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions